Skip to main content

Governing Body

Our Governing Board

All schools in England have a Governing Body which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a ‘critical friend’: to support,  to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community. The Governing Body of Westhoughton High School is committed to supporting the school and its continued development.

The Governing Body works in close partnership with the Headteacher, staff and the Local Authority. Whilst the Headteacher is responsible for the day to day running of the school, the Governors are involved in supporting strategic decisions around staffing, curriculum, school buildings and finance. It ensures the school functions well, secures best value and maintains the proper range of academic and social objectives.

At Westhoughton High School the Governing Body consists of:

  • The Headteacher
  • One elected Staff Governor
  • One appointed Local Authority Governor
  • Two elected Parent Governors
  • Nine Co-opted Governors

The standard term of office for a Governor is four years with the Chair and Vice-Chair being elected annually at the first meeting of the academic year.

The Chair of Governors is Mrs Joanne Murphy, who can be contacted via the school email or alternatively marked FTAO Mrs Joanne Murphy, C/o Westhoughton High School, Bolton Road, Westhoughton, Bolton BL5 3DN.

Further information about the commitment and role of a governor can be gained by visiting the school website and/or the LA Governance Services website at

Appointed by the Local Authority:
Mr David Chadwick

Elected by parents of the school:
Dr Eric Lou
Mrs Alison Mort

Elected by staff of the school:
Mr Lewis Shaw

Headteacher (ex officio):
Mr N S Coe

Co-opted Members:
Mr Ron Bell
Mrs Claire Brodmann
Mrs Janette Hayes
Mr John Hayes (Vice Chair of Governors)
Mr Chris Houghton
Mr Michael Inman
Mr Neil Maher
Mrs Renée Mellis
Mrs Joanne Murphy (Chair of Governors)

Associate Members:
Mrs Gill Bailey
Mrs Jennifer Benigno
Mrs Caroline Unsworth

Clerk to the Governing Body / Director of Education’s Representative:
Children’s Services Governor Support Team